Performance Standards

For Local Public Health Agencies in Missouri

The Performance Standards for the Missouri Institute for Community Health’s Accreditation Program are built upon the evidence/experience-based minimum package of essential governmental public health services and capacities called the Foundational Public Health Services.

In addition to the Foundational Public Health Services, the framework for the Missouri performance standards encompasses the principles of Public Health 3.0 as defined by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.


For Local Public Health Agencies in Missouri

The Missouri Institute for Community Health (MICH) is the accrediting body for Missouri’s Voluntary Accreditation Program for Local Public Health Agencies.  MICH is a 501C (3) corporation governed by a Board of Directors.  Board members include health care providers, representatives of academia, and state and local government.  The mission of MICH is “to facilitate and promote excellence in community systems for health and quality of life.”

The Missouri public health system began exploring accreditation for local public health agencies in the 1990s.  In 2002, MICH was created and the first set of standards were issued in 2003.  Although Standards Workbook were revised in 2006 and 2011, this is the first time the basis of Standards Workbook has shifted from the Ten Essential Services to the Foundational Public Health Services.

Foundational Capabilities and Programs

The MICH Accreditation Standards are built upon the six foundational capabilities and five foundational programs.  Foundational capabilities are the knowledge, skills and abilities needed to successfully implement foundational programs.  Foundational programs include topic- and disease-specific work that leads to the achievement of improved health outcomes, such as a decrease in the prevalence of a particular disease or health risk behavior such as smoking.  Foundational programs depend on multiple foundational capabilities at any given time; in fact, foundational program work would not be successful without the knowledge, skills and abilities of our public health workforce.

Public Health 3.0

In the “A Call to Actio

n to Create a 21st Century Public Health Infrastructure”, by the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the office outlined five key values to carry Public Health 3.0 principles into the future.  These are:

  1. Strong leadership and workforce
  2. Strategic partnerships
  3. Flexible and sustainable funding
  4. Timely and locally relevant data, metrics, and analytics
  5. Foundational infrastructure

You will find all five principles are inherent throughout our standards.  We are confident that by engaging in the accreditation process your local public health agency will work to ensure that every person in your jurisdiction will have the conditions in which they can be healthy.

Culture of Health Framework promoted by RWJF

MICH’s standards also reflect the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Culture of Health Framework and reflect the key critical issues that Local Public Health Agencies (LPHAs) will need to thrive in the coming years:

  • Define health in the broadest possible terms;
  • Commit to sustainable systems changes and policy-oriented long-term solutions;
  • Cultivate a shared and deeply-held belief in the importance of equal opportunity for health;
  • Harness the collective power of leaders, partners, and community members;
  • Secure and make the most of available resources; and
  • Measure and share progress and results.

Missouri Institute for Community Health Voluntary Accreditation Program

The Foundational Public Health Services establish a threshold and a consistent basis for investments in governmental public health activity.  The Missouri Institute for Community Health (MICH) has organized our state-based accreditation program around the framework of the Foundational Public Health Services to ensure that all accredited health departments in Missouri demonstrate accountability and quality assurance to the jurisdictions they cover.  There are 7 main sections for Standards Workbook: